Classic Horsemanship  

Go Back   Classic Horsemanship > The Classroom > General Horsemanship

Old 09-10-2013, 11:06 AM   #1
Baquero
Foal

Default Self Carriage

This should turn into a neat discussion, what does it take for a horse to develop proper self carriage. There is a lot of discussion about collection and false collection. What is it that makes a horse properly carry itself, and how do you achieve it?
Baquero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:27 PM   #2
Jimmy
Foal

Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baquero View Post
This should turn into a neat discussion, what does it take for a horse to develop proper self carriage. There is a lot of discussion about collection and false collection. What is it that makes a horse properly carry itself, and how do you achieve it?
Wow, you just want to know the simple stuff. lol. I've been riding for over thirty years. I'll ride for twenty more, and a few more hundred horses, then I might be able to talk intelligently about this. I'll get back to you.
Jimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 09:51 AM   #3
Baquero
Foal

I believe it is something that we overcomplicate. And a simple understanding of it will change the way you ride, or attempt to ride. I also think it is one of the foundational principles of classic horsemanship.
Baquero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 06:48 PM   #4
Jimmy
Foal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baquero View Post
I believe it is something that we overcomplicate. And a simple understanding of it will change the way you ride, or attempt to ride. I also think it is one of the foundational principles of classic horsemanship.